Databases A-Z

B

  • UDB-EUR includes 10 active newspapers from the Baltics (4), Belarus (3), Moldova (1), and Ukraine (2), and the archives of eight other papers that have either ceased or were suspended.  Most Newspapers are in Russian.  "The Baltic Times", which covers all three Baltic countries (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania) is the only English-language newspaper in the database. The newspaper from Tallin is in Estonian, and one of the newspapers from Ukraine is in Ukrainian.

    Full Record
  • The full text of Baltimore's African American newspaper from 1893 to 1988. 

    Full Record
  • Covers all subjects on the humanities and the social sciences pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. dating back as far back as 1791.

    Full Record
  • The Royal Historical Society's online bibliography provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. 

    Full Record
  • "The Bibliography of Slavic Linguistics Online brings together the details of substantial number of unique publications, carefully selected, classified, cross-referenced and indexed by professional bibliographers."

    Full Record
  • Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and periodical articles. Also includes the contents of two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire d'art et d'archéolgie (1973-1989) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975-1989).

    Full Record
  • Search the collection of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity.

    Full Record
  • Indexes more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

    Full Record
  • Contains a collection of bibliographic references for life science and biomedical research literature, covering peer-reviewed article abstracts from more than 4,300 U.S. and international journals. Coverage from 1926-2015.

    Full Record
  • Provides immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

    Full Record
  • Contains the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

    Full Record
  • Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Includes personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems and musical compositions from black authors from the Americas, Europe, and Africa.

    Full Record
  • Consists of personal papers of African Americans and records of civil rights organizations. Among the collections are: Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM); Mary McLeod Bethune Papers; Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs (NACWC); Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; Bayard Rustin Papers; Claude A. Barnett Papers.

    Full Record
  • Arranged by era and topic, this free website contains important documents in African-American history, with the earliest from 1790. Unlike other primary source collections, these are arranged by topic, making it very easy to use. Topics range from slavery, individuals, laws and legislation, and organizations. Although not comprehensive, this is an excellent starting point. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries for anyone studying U.S. Black history.

    Full Record
  • Access over 82,000 pages and an estimated 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.

    Full Record
  • Access over 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major African American leaders, teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers and other figures covering 250 years of history.

    Full Record
  • Bloom’s Literature includes critical essays, author biographies, interviews, and profiles, as well as character analyses.  More than 1,000 poetry and classic works of literature are available in full-text. There are essays on how to write papers, full-length videos of classic stage performances, and film adaptations of literary works.  There is also an extensive database on Shakespeare and his works.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record
  • Cancelled due to budget constraints.  This resource will be unavailable after June 29, 2019.

    If you have questions or concerns, please contact us.

    Full Record
  • Provides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.

    Print edition ceased in 2010.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record
  • Enciclopedia Moderna includes over 50,000 articles plus 4,200 images. Complete with a dictionary, atlas, and timelines, it's the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Britannica Escolar Online provides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia with 2,000 articles, images, videos, an atlas, and learning materials specifically designed for younger students.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record
  • An App for your iPad or Android tablet that lets you download and browse scholarly journals using your KU Online ID and password.  

    Full Record
  • Browse scholarly journals in a virtual library.  Brings all the benefits mobile users enjoy to the web based environment, extending access to desktop and laptop devices.  Highlights include expanded data sources, abstracts, ILL Integration, EndNote Integration, transformative URLs, and ability to create and share reading lists.

    Full Record
  • BuildingGreen Suite offers articles, case studies and links to information on sustainable design issues, strategies, green building products, and current projects.

    Access to this resource requires you to login with your KU online ID and password.

    Full Record
  • Business Insights: Essentials (formerly Business and Company Resource Center) provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to local business news in Kansas City and 39 other cities around the U.S. with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses. The integrated archival files contain more than 750,000 business news articles published since 1996 in all 40 city business journals. This database provides an exact replica of the weekly newspaper, as well as special publications produced by this company including "Best Places to Work" and the popular "Book of Lists" for each city.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the Edwards Campus.

    Access to this this resource requires you to login with your KU online ID and password.

    Internet Explorer and Google Chrome are recommended browsers, does not work well with Firefox.

    Full Record
  • Indexing and abstracts covering business related, peer reviewed journals, books, case studies, company profiles, industry reports, and country economic reports.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record

Temporary COVID-19 Access

Due to the impact of COVID-19, a number of publishers are providing expanded access to online content on a temporary basis.

KU Today