Databases A-Z

G

  • Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

    Full Record
  • Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines and spanning at least 25 years.

    Full Record
  • Indexes newspapers, newswires and a collection of refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, general interest magazines as well as specialty titles in law, health care and computers. General OneFile includes more than 7,800 full-text titles; hundreds of newspapers -- a total of nearly 12,000 titles in all with more than 30 years of backfile coverage from 1980 to present.

    Full Record
  • Provides citations, abstracts, and full-text material to topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Sources include encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionaries, magazines, journals, and newspapers.

    Full Record
  • Interdisciplinary resource for environmental and sustainability studies. This resource provides news, video, primary source documents and through topic, organization, and country portals.

    Full Record
  • This collection has more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports. Content included in the database is almost entirely full-text. This database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty -- such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. Educator's Reference Complete also focuses on issues in administration, funding and policy.

    Full Record
  • Covers a complete range of health care topics.  This collection includes journal articles, books, pamphlets, and video.

    Full Record
  • Informe Academico (formerly Informe: revistas en espanol) is the first reference database to provide indexing, full text, and images of the most popular Spanish language magazines and bilingual periodicals. Provides access to the full text of more than 140 Spanish language and bilingual products, covering a wide range of subject matter from current events to academic interests. Features bilingual citations to help non-Spanish speaking navigate easily through the database.

    Full Record
  • Provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Dates of coverage: 1980 to present.

    Full Record
  • Contains full text content from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers. Dates of coverage: 1980 to present.

    Full Record
  • Provides an online collection of reference e-books. The collection covers a wide variety of subject matters, such as English literature, history, biography, literature, medicine, health, sociology, and education.

    Full Record
  • Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's, gender and GLBT issues. Contains materials dating back to 1970. Incorporates the publication Women "R".

    Full Record
  • A collection of nearly 600 genealogy research and reference publications in searchable PDF format.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

     

    Full Record
  • A comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.

    Full Record
  • The collection was begun by Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen in the late 1800s. This resource delivers images on the evolution of feminist consciousness and women's rights as they appeared in the original printed works.  It includes monographs, periodicals and pamphlets in fifteen languages.

    Full Record
  • The World Bank's portal for analysis of current economic trends, and economic and financial indicators. It features up-to-date analysis on global economic conditions, including a daily brief and event-driven focus reports, direct access to high-frequency datasets via Quick Query, forecasts for commodity prices and main macroeconomic indicators for over 130 countries.

    Full Record
  • Search the most recent global news content, with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

    Full Record
  • A tool for searching the full text of books.  For each book and depending on the permission of the author or the publisher you will be able to see a few sentences of your search term in context, a few sample pages or the full book. Links provided to book reviews, synopses, sources to purchase the book, and to libraries that hold the books.

    Full Record
  • This computer-generated news site aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide and groups similar stories together.

    Full Record
  • A web search engine that provides a way to search the scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions.  Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.

    Full Record
  • Russian Government and Parliamentary Publications (UDB-GOV) monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions and legislative drafts as well as auxiliary information such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The Database includes Biulleten' Schetnoi palaty published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma, or The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government's resolutions and the Constitutional Court's decisions are also available as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo.

    Full Record
  • A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment including topics such as global warming, recycling, and alternate fuel sources. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, it includes the positive and the negative ways humans affect ecology.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record
  • Offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001), The Oxford companion to Music (2011), and The Oxford Dictionary, 2nd Edition (revised 2006), as well as all subsequent updates. It includes 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies. It is the most comprehensive source of information on all aspects of music in English.

    Full Record
  • This database “Gun Regulation and Legislation in America” brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the United States v. Miller and District of Columbia v. Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.

    Full Record
  • Full-text scholarly monographs covering all areas of history, available originally and exclusively as digital books, presented by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association.

    Full Record

KU Today