Databases A-Z

N

  • Covering years 1909 through 1972, this collection contains internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People throughout the country.

    Full Record
  •  A NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 4.0 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in Astronomy. The databases cover all the major journals, many minor journals, conference proceedings, several observatory reports and newsletters, many NASA reports, and PhD theses. 

    IMPORTANT : ADS Classic (URL above) will be completely retired in October 2019.  Please redirect your searches to the new ADS modern form or the classic form.   More info about creating a new user account and importing information stored in personal libraries to the new ADS before October 2019 can be found in the new ADS Help Pages or ADS blog.

    Full Record
  • A comprehensive online resource on politics and policy, including selective full-text access to several distinct journals, including: National Journal online & CongressDaily.

    Full Record
  • Search the NLR's electronic catalog for books 1708-present.  The NLR also has many specialized catalogs for different types of materials (e.g.  journals, newspapers, documents, manuscripts, etc.) as well as a growing repository for digital objects

    Full Record
  • Provides indexing and abstracts to technical reports from both U.S. and non-U.S. sponsored research. Compiled by the U.S. National Technical Information Service, the database covers topics in the sciences, engineering, business, and social sciences. Users must register with NTRL and accept terms and conditions to gain access. Downloads limited to ten reports per session.

    Full Record
  • Natural Medicines contains content from both Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. It is an authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. Features include evidence-based natural ingredient monographs, health & wellness monographs, evidence-based commercial products, interaction checker, nutrient depletion checker, comparative effectiveness, patient handouts, CE center, Natural MedWatch, and quick reference charts.

    License requires all users authenticate with KU Online ID and password - including those on campus.

    Full Record
  • A streaming audio source for classical music. It includes all the music issued on Naxos, Marco Polo, Da Capo, plus selections from 100+ other labels. (Restricted to 10 simultaneous users.) For professor account details, contact Chris Bohling in the Music & Dance Library.

    Full Record
  • A streaming audio database which includes music from Naxos, Fantasy, Prestige, Pablo, and other labels. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.) For professor account details, contact Chris Bohling in the Music & Dance Library.

    Full Record
  • A database of over 45,000 works for consultation or downloading. The FreeHand Solero viewer plug-in available at the site is required for transposing, listening, and optimized printing.   This software is installed on public computers in Gorton Music and Dance Library only. For professor account details, contact Chris Bohling in the Music & Dance Library.

    Full Record
  • Provides an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. (Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.)

    Full Record
  • A collection of economists' papers in progress, presenting initial research with intent to receive feedback and comment from the professional community.

    Full Record
  • A comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more. NetAdvantage offers screening tools, private company information, and the ability to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis. Dates of coverage: Current with some older information (back to 4 years).

    Full Record
  • Contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations.

    Full Record
  • Online resource with over 1,850 topical articles contributed by 1,500 economists. Resource will be updated and enhanced on a quarterly basis. System capabilities include active links between articles, printing, mathematical equations viewing (MathML), and Open URL.

    Full Record
  • Documents the past of New York's African American community, including the Harlem Renaissance, the desegregation of the U.S. Military and the Civil Rights Movement.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to full page and article images with searchable full-text from 1851 to 4 years ago.

    Full Record
  • Provides news on events, arts, sports, business and finance, and New York society from pre-Civil War until the early 20th century.

    Full Record
  • Provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers and selective full text for 410 U.S newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record
  • Provides access to more than 15,000 full-text news, legal and business sources. Includes journal articles, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and 75 million executives. Replaces LexisNexis Academic.

    Full Record
  • Online database version of the 50 volumes of Japanese historical gazetteer, published by Heibonsha. Includes 200,000 headings with detailed explanation of the place name. Continuously updated.

    This database is now merged into JapanKnowledge Lib. To search this content only, select “AdvancedSearch” and then select “Japanese Historical Place Names or 日本歴史地名大系” from the drop down box.

    Full Record
  • NK News is an independent, privately owned specialist information source that focuses on North Korea. The site intends to bring authoritative news, opinion & analysis, research tools, data and subject specialists together in one convenient place. The service was established in April 2010 and has staff in Washington DC, Seoul, and London.

    Full Record
  • One of the best researched and written African American newspapers of its era. 

    Full Record
  • Provides a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Included are approximately 100,000 pages of primary source such as letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, political cartoons, and oral histories. Materials included cover a period from approximately 1840 to the present, with most of the focus on the period from 1890 to 1920. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island oral history interviews are indexed and searchable as well.

    Full Record
  • Describes both fiction and nonfiction book titles for all ages. NoveList includes book lists, discussion guides, award lists, and feature articles.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record
  • Includes a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.

    This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

    Full Record

KU Today